Ain’t Nobody’s Business if She Does

I believe in a lot of things, and someday I will invent an Awesomeness Scale on which I can place them all.  But among the things in which I do not believe:

Bullies (and their online equivalents, the Trolls).  Mobbing.  That anything that has the word “food” on its label is really food.  See:  “American Cheese Food“.)  And most of all, in denying anyone’s right to a private life.

That said, Jodie Foster — coming up on 48 this year — is pushing fifty harder than any white female cosmetic-surgery virgin ever has.  On the edge of 44 myself, I think there’s gotta be a reason for that.

And I WANT TO KNOW WHAT IT IS.

Girl, please:

People just do not LOOK like you at our age.  And yeah, blah blah blah Yale, blah blah clean living, blah Oscars, “my kids keep me” blah.  I am not buying it.

Thing is, Jodie, I think that you know something the rest of Hollywood doesn’t.  I think that’s why you look real and good and so many of them look fake and bad.  I think there’s a word for what you know.

And I’m gonna say that word:

AUTHENTICITY.

Jodie Foster patrols the territory between her private and public life fiercely and firmly.  We never need to guess what she stands for.  She’s stood for it since she wore a size 6x, and with the life she got, she’s often had to.  And lately, she’s spent some time mentoring at least one young person through similar storms.

Jodie Foster is a living example of dignity and integrity, in a time when we really have to reach to find either among those in public life.

Rock on, Jodie.  You can send me your dermatologist’s name any old time.

3 responses to “Ain’t Nobody’s Business if She Does

  1. Re the piece on Gabby:

    You’re right, it’s time.

    As for wishing you were a lesbian … But you are, husband. You ARE.

    🙂

  2. Agree about the importance of authenticity, ESPECIALLY in Hollywood (not sure this word can breathe in the plastic air out there). The Snapshot about Jodie Foster & Kristin Stewart makes me think of another word that amplifies authenticity: relationships. Her relationshipos may be nother possible hallmark of Jodie Foster’s success story.

  3. god I wish I was a lesbian right now.

    How about a piece on Gabby? She’s turning the world upside down with her unabashed self-confidence.

Leave a Reply

