On Managing Your Brand

Ever just have one of those days?

July 22-23, 2010:  one of those days.  I feel I need to apologize to the world.

I apologize to the entire Internet.

I apologize for going all Bush-doctrine in my approach to celebrities.  (Mock them or suck up to them?  I prefer to mock.)  I apologize further for applying this strategy without regard to friends’ relationships with said celebrities, or to degrees of celebrity hotness.

I apologize for using the same handle on several websites.

I apologize to everyone sitting to my right at the communal table (hell, the entire room) at Lafitte last night, between 10:30 (when dinner started) and 1 a.m. this morning (when it ended), for what happened each time I had to swing my legs over the bench to sit.

No — unlike some people, Von Schramm — I was not “going commando”.  But I was wearing what amounted to a getup for Malibu Barbie After Dark, so, you know.  Mistakes were made.

I apologize to last night’s Scotch sommelier for calling the penultimate Scotch of the evening “barbecued”.

I really apologize to the chef for having made that face while eating the dessert, which even now, I’m like … okay.  Think about berries.  Think about berries.

And, see?  I apologize because I still insist on doing that.

I apologize to my baby sister for drunk-dialing her at two in the morning.

I apologize and a half to that sister for not leaving a message.

I apologize to my doctor, the infinitely kind Dr. James Yoss, for showing up in his office today at 1:30 with a hangover.

I apologize further to Dr. Yoss for telling him, when he poked at my liver and laughed at me, “You suck.”

Finally:  I apologize for clicking on this story, and reading this question:

Has playing Don Draper influenced your personal style?Lyse Garant, DOVER, N.J.
I’m more conscious of what goes into dressing up. My personal style is not quite up to snuff with Mad Men. But the difference between a nice suit and a suit that isn’t tailored to fit you is significant. It’s very much a statement about a person who’s ready to look like he’s in control of a situation.

… and going “Really.”

Twice.

6 responses to “On Managing Your Brand

  1. dancewosleeping

    OK one last thing before I make myself go back to work (sigh…):
    Alternate Title for Jezebel: Limit Your Exposure…

  2. “botanical remarks” …

    Now THAT’S funny. 🙂

  3. dancewosleeping

    So, yes, I read Don Draper’s 10 questions and flashed (no pun intended) to the Jezebel article too. Honestly tho, maybe cuz I bat for the other team and prefer orchids to berries, I really thought that he had his cellphone in his pants pocket instead of his jacket. I mean, I’m looking at right angles, and that’s NOT RIGHT.

    • My God. You know, I had no idea that one wardrobe issue (or my comment on it) would become so …

      … And here’s where I have to stop, because there’s just nothing I can say that doesn’t turn into a pun. 🙂

      Upside: I guess it means people are watching the show. (Worshiping the trousers that cling to him, for sure.) Downside? That was just a really bad day, in terms of recorded behavior, for me.

      But funny. Definitely funny!

      • dancewosleeping

        I saw your comments in amongst the myriad botanical remarks (twig?? really?? on the other hand, I guess it’s more…demure…than referencing a log). Personally, I thought they were more restrained, thought-out, and funny than the drool-fest I had to slog thru on the other comments…

Leave a Reply

